Australian Eight Ball Federation

2012 2007 Australian Womens Team

2007 Women’s Team World Champions – 2012

Australian Women’s Team 2007 World Champions – Inducted 2012

The Australian Team named at the AEBF Senior Nationals in October 2006 was named to travel to The World Championships in 2007.

It’s been a long time coming but the wait was certainly worth while for the Aussie girls after their ladies team final success.
The ‘green and golds’ arrived in Blackpool with a formidable squad.
And while they suffered several hiccups in the group phase, they made no mistake in the knockout stages.
Boasting individual semi-finalists Lyndall Hulley and Tanya Aitken, the Aussies knocked out Wales in the semi-finals.
And they overturned a 15-10 round robin defeat to gain revenge on England with a 13-10 final success.
As a result the hosts are still waiting for an eighth title having seen Scotland lift the trophy in 2005 and France 12 months later.
There was little to choose between the old rivals in the opening two sessions.
Aitken (2), Lauren Jelly and Hulley (2) struck for the underdogs; Barbara Taylor, Sharon Lunn, Liesa Conlin, Carly Smith and Jackie Baker replied for England.
However, after Taylor made it 6-5 at the start of the third session, the Aussies came roaring back.
Hulley, Lyndal Ellement and Aitken made it 8-6 to open up a decisive gap.
Carly Smith pulled one back for the seven times champions only for Elise Mabbott, Ellement and the imperious Hulley to increase Australia’s lead to 11-7.
Conlin and Smith reduced the arrears to suggest a revival.
However, Ellement took the Aussies to the brink before Hulley fittingly clinched the match by preserving her 100 per cent success.
Indeed, Hulley finished top of the averages, losing only three of her 24 frames in the group stages to give her a better percentage than eight times individual champion, Sue Thompson.”